Link’s Awakening (4-16)

Game Title – The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening

Game Release date – 1993

Start Time – February 13, 2012

End Time – TBD

System Played on – Nintendo 3DS Virtual Console

Walkthrough Used – Zelda Dungeon

Link’s Awakening is a game I have fond memories of. I only ever played it once, and it was in monochrome, but I still think often about the game. Well, I remember that the ending was emotional for me, but to be honest, I can’t remember how the game ends all. You see, I had this crush on a girl way back in my high school days, and I played this game around that time. My affections for her were never returned, so the game itself made for a fine way to kill time while my emotions sorted themselves out. In fact, I can think of a number of games that have helped me through emotionally rough times. Gaming can be quite therapeutic.

I  fired this up on the 3DS the same day I started A Link to the Past and it seems very similar to me in many ways. The music and graphics of both games are very close to each other, though I would say that Link’s Awakening has an even better score(despite it being for Game Boy.) Playing this game in color is much more enjoyable than playing it in monochrome. I immediately notice the lack of headache after playing it. I used to get headaches playing those old Game Boy games.)  I am looking forward to getting deeper into the world rediscovering what it was that I loved so much about it.

Housekeeping: My copy of Spirit Tracks came in today. I’m still waiting on my copies of Phantom Hourglass and Twilight Princess to come in from their respective locations. I plan to buy Majora’s Mask on the Virtual Console, and I’m hoping to get my Japanese copy of Oracle of Seasons working. All that remains to purchase is the Wind Waker and Oracle of Ages. There are many Japanese copies of Wind Waker I could pick up, but I’m really hoping to get my hands on an English copy of the game. That could prove difficult as there aren’t many to be found, especially in Japan. This could be the hardest game to find for this quest. I’ll keep you updated as I go.

A quick question for my readers: Should I play all the games in order of release? Or should I mix them up a little? I’m tempted to start Skyward Sword in the next little while and not leave it until last, yet there is something in playing them all in the order they were released that is appealing to me.  Let me know what you think.

One thought on “Link’s Awakening (4-16)

Leave a Reply

